



## 40 Years of Commonwealth Election Observation: Evolving, Responding, Innovating

## **Democracy Day Symposium**

2020 marks 40 years of Commonwealth Election Observation. This milestone presents a unique opportunity to review and commemorate the Commonwealth's work in international election observation and how it contributes to the promotion of democracy in member countries.

The Symposium, held over two days, offers a space to reflect on the Commonwealth's electoral history and the trends that have influenced elections, and to strengthen this key area of work.

## Panel I Reflecting on the Commonwealth's Electoral History and Evolution: Personal Perspectives

## 15 September 2020, 2:00 pm BST

Keynote Address: The Rt Hon Patricia Scotland QC Commonwealth Secretary-General

#### **Speakers**

**Dr Lawrence Gonzi** Prime Minister of Malta (2004-2013)

**HE Dr Goodluck Jonathan** President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (2010-2015)

**HE Bruce Golding** Prime Minister of Jamaica (2007-2011) **Zainab Bangura** Director-General of the United Nations Office at Nairobi

**HE Mmasekgoa Masire-Mwamba** Deputy Secretary General of the Commonwealth (2008-2014)

**Dr Rajen Prasad QSO** Commonwealth Special Envoy to Lesotho (2014-2016)

**Moderator: Stuart Mole OBE** Director, Commonwealth Secretary-General's Office (1990–2000)



# Panel II Key Electoral Trends Influencing the Last 40 Years

## 16 September 2020, 12:00 pm BST

## **Speakers**

## Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan

Chairman, Electoral Commission of Ghana (1993-2015)

#### **Olufunto Akinduro**

Senior Programme Officer, International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA), Nigeria

#### Hon Sana Ullah Baloch

Member of the Balochistan Provincial Assembly, Pakistan

#### Moderator: Amitav Banerji

**Lomcebo Dlamini** Human Rights Lawyer, Eswatini

**Dr Eric Kwa** Secretary of the Department of Justice and Attorney General, Papua New Guinea

**Dr Lisa Ann Vasciannie** Lecturer, University of West Indies, Mona, Jamaica

Director and Head, Office of the Commonwealth Secretary-General (2000-2008), Director of Political Affairs, Commonwealth Secretariat (2009-2015)

**Register to attend via GoTo Webinar**